Australia Day


Australia Day is an opportunity to celebrate people and groups that have made noteworthy contributions in our community.

Did you know that the tradition of having Australia Day as a national holiday on 26 January is a recent one. It wasn’t until 1994 that all states and territories began to celebrate Australia Day consistently as a public holiday on that date.

The Australia Day Awards are provided by the Queensland Commemorative Events and Celebrations Committee and administered by Local Governments.

Guidelines for Local Governments Administering Awards       Australia day logo - resized

Australia Day 2021 Nominations Open Now!

Balonne Shire Council is now calling for nominations for the 2021 Australia Day Awards.

These Awards are an excellent opportunity for the community at large to recognise in a meaningful way, the achievements of individuals and in the case of the Community Event of the Year, organisations.

All residents or organisations in the Shire area are eligible for an Award.

This year Council invites nominations for the following awards:

  • Citizen of the Year Award (over 18 years)
  • Young Citizen of the Year Award (under 18 years)
  • Community Event Award
  • Community Service Award
  • Sports Achievement Medallion (over 18 years)
  • Sport Achievement Medallion (under 18 years)
  • Sport Achievement Medallion (Administrator, etc)
  • Cultural Achievement Medallion (over 18 years)
  • Cultural Achievement Medallion (under 18 years)

Guidelines and Forms can be found on the links below or be collected from the Balonne Shire Council Office.

Nomination forms should be returned to

Nominations close on Friday, 27 November 2020 at 4pm.

2020 Australia Day

St George hosted the Australia Day awards at the St George Amphitheatre. Australia Day Ambassador Mr Tim Fairfax assisted Mayor Cr Richard Marsh in presenting the following awards:

  • Junior Sports Achievement Medallion - Kate Southern
  • Senior Sports Achievement Medallion - Kevin Southern
  • Sports Administrator Medallion - Alistair Mace
  • Cultural Achievement Award - Katie Parker
  • Community Event of the Year Award - St George Rugby League Centenary Celebrations
  • Community Service Award - Majella Morris
  • Young Citizen of the Year - Lillian Stenhouse
  • Citizen of the Year - Barbara McMillan 

Australia Day Winners